FIRST TIME DRIVERS
All customers applying for a Florida license will be required to meet minimum vision requirements and provide identification documents for issuance. Please see our document requirements section for more information. Customers must be 15 or older to obtain a Florida Class E Learner Permit. The following information pertains only to customers who have never had a driver license anywhere before. Customers with a driver license from another state or country should visit our Frequently Asked Questions page for licensing requirements.
Steps to Obtaining a Florida Class E Driver License
1. Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course (TLSAE)
Commonly referred to as the “4-hour drug and alcohol course.” This course is a requirement for all first-time drivers and is done strictly outside of our offices.
List of providers
2. Class E Knowledge Exam
After you have completed the TLSAE requirement you must pass the Class E General Knowledge exam. The test can be taken in any of our branch offices from 8:30am-3:30pm, Monday-Friday. The general knowledge computer test contains 50 multiple-choice randomized questions. Most questions are situational and pertain to Florida traffic laws. Please view our fee page for testing fees. The test is available in English, Spanish, Haitian-Creole, Arabic, Chinese, and Russian.
We recommend that customers study the Florida driver’s handbook before taking the general knowledge exam. Handbooks can be downloaded for free in English and Spanish at floridadmvbooklet.com. Limited supplies of handbooks are also available in our branch offices and the public libraries.
After studying the Florida Driver's Handbook, you can try a practice test online.
Customers under 18 are eligible to take the Class E General Knowledge exam online through approved third party sites for an additional fee. If you do not pass the test online and then decide to retake it in an office the online test will count as your first attempt, meaning each test taken in an office will cost $10. A parent or guardian will be required to certify that their child was monitored during the online exams.
List of approved providers
Some high schools offer driver education courses that include all the required permit tests. Parents wanting to use this option should inquire with their child’s high school.
3. Learner Permit Issuance
Customers over 18 are not required to obtain a learner permit. When you feel prepared you can make an appointment for the driving skills test by calling us at 239.533.6000 or visiting services.flhsmv.gov/OASIS. Once you pass the driving test you will be issued your Class E license.
Customers over 18 who would like to complete all exams and get their Class E license in the same day should make an appointment for a driving test ahead of time. On the day of your driving test appointment you should come in about 1 hour early to complete the Class E general knowledge exam (only if you have not already done so).
Consent must be given from a parent or legal guardian for a minor to obtain a learner permit. Step-parents, grandparents, or other family members may only sign if they have legal custody of the minor. If a parent or guardian is not present at issuance, the parental consent form must be completed.
Minors who attempted general knowledge and road signs testing online will need a parent or guardian present to certify that they were monitored during the exams. If a parent or guardian is not present, the parent proctoring form must be completed.
4. Upgrading the Learner Permit to a Class E Operator License
Minors are required to hold their learner permit for at least one exact year from the date of issuance or their 18th birthday, whichever is sooner. Once the necessary time has elapsed it will be necessary to pass a driving skills test to upgrade to the Class E license. Driving tests are done by appointment at our North and South Fort Myers offices only. Call 239.533.6000 or visit services.flhsmv.gov/OASIS to schedule your appointment. Please review the Driving Test Instructions prior to arriving at our office for your driving skills test.
Customers under 18 must a responsible adult 21 or older present when upgrading to a Class E license. If a responsible adult 21 or older cannot be present, a certification of driving experience of a minor form must be filled out to certify the minor had a minimum of 50 hours of driving experience, with at least 10 hours having been at night.
Customers who passed a driving skills test in a driver education course at school are not required to do a driving test in an office.
Customers who are non-immigrants (anyone who is not a United States citizen or permanent resident) will need to bring current immigration documents to upgrade their license.
The fee to replace the learner permit with a regular Class E operator license will be just $6.25 as long as it is not expired and no other changes are being made. If there is a name or address change the total will be $31.25 to upgrade and applicable documents will be required.