Used Vehicle Purchase - Florida Title|
To transfer ownership of a used vehicle previously titled in Florida, the following information and documentation is required:
- Certificate of Florida Title, properly executed in the "Transfer of Title by Seller" section; seller(s')/purchaser(s') signatures and hand printed names; selling price, selling date, and odometer disclosure (if applicable).
- Additional taxes equivalent to Florida's sales and/or local tax may be due.
Proof of purchase price should be provided in the form of an original or certified copy bill of sale or
invoice showing vehicle purchase price, sales tax paid, and any trade in
- If recording a lien, the lien holder's name, address, date of lien, and
federal employer identification number (FEID) from the lien holder must be
provided at time of application.
- Each applicant, or his/her appointed power of attorney, must complete the title application.
- Each applicant must submit proof of identity with the title application. When the applicant(s) provide written authorization for another individual to sign and/or receive documents on their behalf, both the applicant(s) and the authorized agent's proof of identity must be submitted. Proof of identity may be presented in one of the following forms:
If you are the appointed power of attorney, the original or certified copy of the signed appointment must be presented at time of application.
- A Florida driver license or identification card
- An out-of-state driver license or identification card with photo
- A driver license or identification card from any U.S. Territory
- A Canadian driver license or identification card
- A U.S. passport/passport card or out-of-country passport
- Military ID (walk-in applicants only)
- The applicant's date of birth and Florida driver license number (if
available) are recorded as part of the application. If registering in a
company name, the federal employer identification number (FEID) must be
- Mileage is required to be disclosed on vehicles that are less than 10
calendar years old. Mileage information must be indicated on the title or
supplemental dealer reassignment(s) to the title.
- Proof of current Florida insurance must be presented in the form of an
automobile policy, ID card, or binder. If the vehicle will not be driven
on the highways of Florida, applicant must complete a non-use affidavit.
- Title fees are due upon application and are as follows:
- Title Fees - $75.75
- Lien Fee - $2.00 (per lien if applicable)
- Penalty Fee - $20.00 - is assessed on a title not transferred within 30 days of date of purchase
- Penalty Fee - $10.00 - is assessed on an off highway vehicle MSO/MCO not transferred within 30 days of date of purchase
- Fast Title Fee - $10.00 (title issued at time of application, fee is in addition to title fee, and some restrictions apply)
- Shipping and Handling Fee - $2.50 - The Department will charge an additional fee for each paper title it prints and mails
Registration fees may be due in addition to title fees.