In the state of Florida, Tax Collectors are independent constitutional officers elected from their counties of residence by their fellow citizens and serve the community in 4-year term intervals. Tax Collectors deal with a variety of duties and responsibilities and provide a wide range of services to the citizens and taxpayers.

Working on behalf of local governments, over 200 taxing authorities in Lee County depend on the Tax Collector to accurately collect and distribute funds through property taxes. Local revenue programs, such as the issuance of business tax receipts, are also managed by our office.

The Tax Collector also serves as an agent for various state agencies including the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission, and the Department of Revenue. 

As a voice in legislative issues as well as sound administrative practice, Florida Tax Collectors exercise valuable leadership roles in Florida’s government and serve as a vital link to citizens.