Driver Identification Cards

A Driver Identification Card is a photo identification card issued by the Lee County Tax Collector for an individual operating a taxicab or vehicle for hire. Driver Identification Cards expire on September 30 of each year.

Temporary Permits

 A Temporary Permit is available for purchase through the Lee County Tax Collector. A Temporary Permit will allow a driver to operate a vehicle for hire for up to 28 days, including the day the permit is purchased. A Florida Criminal History Information Request Form must be submitted to Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE) prior to the Temporary Permit issuance. A driver will be issued only one permit which must be displayed in the vehicle and visible to passengers.

Step One

Complete the Florida Criminal History Information Request Form. Ensure that the information is legible and complete. Include a check or money order in an envelope in the amount of $24.00 made payable to FDLE. Mail the form to:

Florida Department of Law Enforcement

User Services Bureau
Criminal History Services
Post Office Box 1489
Tallahassee, FL 32302-1489

Note: If a driver works for multiple businesses, only one background check is required. A Florida Criminal History Information Request Form must be submitted to FDLE upon initial application for a Driver Identification Card and every 3 years thereafter.

Step Two

If a driver wants to purchase a Temporary Permit after mailing the Florida Criminal History Information Request form to FDLE, the driver should schedule an appointment with the Downtown Fort Myers Tax Collector’s office. The driver must bring a completed Driver Authorization Letter from their employer, current and valid driver license, and a completed application. These documents are located in the Taxicab and Vehicles for Hire New Driver Packet. Once the driver information has been verified, the driver’s picture will be taken and a Temporary Permit issued. The fee is $34.00. This fee includes a $27.00 Driver Application fee and a $7.00 Temporary Permit fee. Cash, personal check, cashier’s check, money order, debit card (PIN required) and all major credit cards accepted. A convenience fee is charged when using a credit or debit card and is subject to service provider rates which may vary. No portion of this fee is retained by the Tax Collector’s office.

Note: If a driver prefers to have the Driver Identification Card mailed to their address of record (when the Florida Criminal History Information Request results are received and approved), the driver can request this at time of application. The fee is $0.50.

Step Three

Once the Florida Criminal History Information Request Form has been received and approved, a member of the Lee County Tax Collector will contact the driver’s employer. The driver should then schedule an appointment at our Downtown office to pick up their Driver Identification Card.

Note: If a driver elected to have their card mailed, our office will do this the same day we contact the driver’s employer.

Renewing A Driver Identification Card

Driver Identification Cards can be renewed as early as August 1 and expire on September 30 of each year.

Renew Online

Select "My Account” (green link at the top of this page). If a driver does not have an account, be sure to create one using the invitation code received from the Lee Count Tax Collector’s office via email. Our office will review the request. Once approved, the driver will receive an email. The driver can then go into their “My Account”, update any personal information, and renew their Driver Identification Card. Payment can be made using a bank account or credit card. A convenience fee is charged when using a credit card and is subject to service provider rates which may vary. No portion of this fee is retained by the Tax Collector’s office.

A member of the Lee County Tax Collector’s office will call the driver when their card is ready to be picked up. If the driver prefers to have their Driver Identification Card mailed to their address of record, they must pay the additional $0.50 when renewing.

Driver Identification Card renewal fee is $15.00. If a driver renews on or after November 1, the amount due is $27.00.

A background check request must be submitted to FDLE upon initial application of a Driver Identification Card and every 3 years thereafter.

Renew in Person

To renew in person, the driver will need to schedule an appointment with our Downtown office online or by calling 239.533.6000.

A current and valid driver license is required. In lieu of a renewal application, we will print the driver’s Driver Review Form. The driver will verify and update the information before signing.  We will issue a new Driver Identification Card upon payment of the renewal. Cash, personal check, cashier’s check, money order, debit card (PIN required) and all major credit cards accepted. A convenience fee is charged when using a credit or debit card and is subject to service provider rates which may vary. No portion of this fee is retained by the Tax Collector’s office.

Driver Identification Card renewal fee is $15.00. If the driver renews on or after November 1, the fee is $27.00.

Note:  A background check request must be submitted to FDLE upon initial application of a Driver Identification Card and every 3 years thereafter.

Applicable Documents

Taxicab and Vehicle for Hire - Driver Renewal Packet
Taxicab and Vehicle for Hire - New Driver Packet